Group of Monuments at Pattadakal

(Average 0 of 0 Ratings)
  • place-img
  • place-img
  • place-img
Year : 7th and 9th centuries | State : Karnataka | City : Pattadakal

The site that showcases Southern and the Indo-Aryan styles of architecture, is included in the list of World Heritage sites since 1987. Pattadakal, the capital of the Chalukyan dynasty from South India, is home of temples that were built in the seventh and eighth centuries. Site has privilege to have ten glorifying temples, including a Jain sanctuary surrounded by numerous small shrines and plinths, four temples, built in Dravidian style, four in Nagara style and the Papanatha temple in mixed style.

A great centre of Chalukyan art, the place was known by the names Kisuvolal (Red Town) or Pattada Kisuvolal, according to inscriptions. The Hammira Kavya mentions the site as a place where the Chalukya kings were crowned, in the 11th and 12th century inscriptions. The place continued to be an important with becoming a chief city for a region called Kisukadu, where The Sindhas of Yaramabarige also ruled it for some time. The domicile of ten 10 major temples here, site encompasses nine Shiva and one Jaina Templ, situated along the northern course of the Holy River.

The Chalukya style experimented with different styles and blended the Nagara and Dravidian styles to evolve their own distinctive style for Group of Monuments at Pattadakal. Among temples of monuments, Virupaksha, Sangameshvara, Mallikarjuna, Kashivisvanatha, Galganatha, Jain, Kadasiddhesvara and Jambulingeswara temples are most notable. The village of Pattadakal is connected by road to Aihole (20 km), Badami (22 km) and Bangalore (495 km). The nearest Railway Station is Badami, which is 24 km away with nearest airport of Belgaum that is 205 kilo meters away from the site.

Map of Group of Monuments at Pattadakal